Close Sidebar

imageMassively overwhelmed and grateful for our Afroellas best female character nomination at the Glyph Awards . We really couldn’t be happier. The competition is strong and to be nominated alongside them is a huge honour. Thank you all at the Glyph awards and thank you to everyone who has shown their support for the character since her launch.

Story of the Year

The Many Adventures of Miranda Mercury, Brandon Thomas, writer, Lee Ferguson, artist
“On Being Crazy” from African-American Classics: Graphic Classics Vol. 22, Tom Pumplun, writer, Kyle Baker, artist
Princeless, Jeremy Whitley, writer, Mia Goodwin, artist
Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man Volume 1, Brian Michael Bendis, writer, Sara Pichelli, artist

Best Writer

Brian Michael Bendis, Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man
Jeff Parker, Thunderbolts
Brandon Thomas, The Many Adventures of Miranda Mercury
Jeremy Whitley, Princeless

Best Artist

Kyle Baker, “On Being Crazy” from African-American Classics: Graphic Classics Vol. 22
Lee Ferguson, The Many Adventures of Miranda Mercury
M. Goodwin, Princeless
Rob Guillory, Chew
Sara Pichelli, Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man

Best Male Character

Luke Cage, Thunderbolts, Jeff Parker, writer, Declan Shalvey & Kev Walker, artists; created by Archie Goodwin & John Romita Sr.
Miles Morales, Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man, Brian Michael Bendis, writer, Sara Pichelli, artist; inspired by the character created by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko
Moses, Radio Free Amerika; created by B. Robert Bell, writer and penciller, Robert Jeffrey II, co-writer
Mr. Terrific, Mr. Terrific, Eric Wallace, writer, Gianluca Gugliotta & Wayne Faucher, artists; inspired by the character created by Charles Reizenstein and Everett E. Hibbard

Best Female Character

Adrienne, Princeless; created by Jeremy Whitley, writer, and M. Goodwin, artist
Afroella, Afroella, created by Gemma Bedeau, writer, and Lee Fenton Wilkinson, artist
Miranda Mercury, The Many Adventures of Miranda Mercury; created by Brandon Thomas, writer, and Lee Ferguson, artist
Vielle, Fungus Grotto, created by Ms. Shatia Hamilton, story and art

Rising Star Award

B. Robert Bell & Robert Jeffrey II, Radio Free Amerika
Ms. Shatia Hamilton, Fungus Grotto
Whit Taylor, Watermelon

Best Cover

Chew #27, Rob Guillory, illustrator
Deadpool Max #7, Kyle Baker, story and art
Mr. Terrific #1, JG Jones, artist, Lovern Kindzierski, colorist
Princeless #1, M. Goodwin, illustrator
Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man #4, Kaare Andrews, illustrator

Best Comic Strip or Webcomic

Fungus Grotto, Ms. Shatia Hamilton, story and art
Marty’s Diner, Dmitri Jackson, story and art
Café Con Leche, Charlos Gary, story and art

Start the conversation

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Copyright 2022 Kromatron. All rights reserved.